Unfinished

Anywhere, anywhere but here I wished to be,

but never, never from you face I wish to flee.

And now you’re flipping tracks – you’ve always been in control,

and I the one to encourage you to define your own role.

But I knew where we were going, I could see what was ahead,

everything was so natural – meant for us – but instead

you’ve taken shears to the sapling, because you once knew a willow tree,

you’ve turned on all the lights at dusk, when the stars shone still just dimly.

And now, through this here looking glass, I can see less and less.

My patience and my peace melt away like all the rest.

And now my friend, I see you as you never seemed to be,

Afraid, impatient, unsure, unkind, untrusting of what could be.

Leave a Reply

