The Snow Globe Complex – Chicago

Last night was one of those nights when looking out my windows was like watching TV. There was so much snow, curling torrents of wind, flashes of lightning and muffled thunder. Thunder snow – I had never heard of such a thing.

This is Chicago. I was glad to be home, cozy and warm in my seventh floor studio.

This morning it was still snowing. I felt like I was living in a snow globe. I decided it was time to go for a walk.

Outside it really was like a snowpocalypse. The roads were nearly vacant, save for snow-locked cars and handfuls of people aimlessly walking around like myself. That’s when I began to discover Chicago’s snow globe complex. People were smiling at each other, taking pictures for one another, sharing words of wonder between passers by, so much so that it was hard to tell who knew who.

I headed for Lake Shore Drive, and crossed over to Oak Street Beach. Even the underpass to get there was piled up with snow. Adults and children slid down the snow-covered staircase on their bottoms.

The beach had been transformed. The lake was like one vast desert of white. Large round waves stood frozen in place, near where I could only guess was the shore, exposing patches of gleaming ice. Everywhere gusts of snow flicked about on the wind.

I walked for hours.

A police woman was calling through her loudspeaker for people to evacuate Lake Shore Drive: “Lake Shore Drive is closed to pedestrians!” People looked at each other and chuckled, ‘what is she going to do?’ Street lights faithfully flicked from green to red. Stores were closed in the middle of the day. And people walked wherever their hearts desired (that is so long as they weren’t in the middle of Lake Shore Drive – then a police SUV would pull up to you and tell you to get on the sidewalk). Plows were attached to everything with wheels. It was fascinating.

It was only when I saw a huge conglomerate of slush and ice fall from a high building in the Loop – which nearly hit the man in front of me before is SLOSHED! all over the sidewalk – that I decided it was time to go home.

For more pictures click here: http://s1130.photobucket.com/albums/m530/kristenncl/Snowpacalypse%202011%20-%20Chicago/

Leave a Reply

