To health and life, make it so!

I’m tired of being tired, of being sick, of being stressed, of being under worked, and especially of complaining (no matter how legitimate the complaint). This year has been crazy for me health wise – freaking out about arteries and Marphans last Fall and Winter, freaking out about allergies and Lymphoma this Spring. But I feel that I’ve turned a corner and am on the way to a new embrace of health and life. There are several reasons for this:

1. The highly talented and knowledgeable Dr. Susan T. Lyon, ENT, who legitimized and explained my most recent health escapade – it isn’t allergies so I don’t have to worry about impending escalation of allergies next year and being afraid of the air I breathe, and it isn’t cancer. It is Supraglottitis, a viral infection, but it is going away. I feel so freed from random acts of lethally aggressive body defense, from misdiagnosis and impending health digression. I’m sure this sounds exaggerated to many people. It would to me too, had I not spent 50% of the time over the last month considering it a very real possibility that I might soon be cut short from a life lived long by the side of the ones I love. But now I’ve been freed, and I want to sing and jump up and down and (what brings me to writing this bog entry) begin to seriously take better care of my body.

2. So last week me, Erik, and my dad fixed one of the bikes in my parent’s garage. After my doctor’s appointment yesterday, I celebrated my new chance at a long and healthy life by going out and buying a helmet, bike lock, and nose lotion (eww) from Walmart (yes I went to Walmart – my retail nemesis – but I was kind of blown away by how they have everything there, and I can afford it. Anyhow…) This morning my dad dropped me off at my apartment with the bike and etc. in tow. Now I’m psyched to try out my new city mobile, and a more efficient method of exploration via cheaper transportation is at my fingertips! Also, biking is good for the body for obvious reasons, so practicality will help me get back in prime physical shape.

3. One of the first places I plan to ride my bicycle will be to Whole Foods, as this morning I evicted from my fridge any suspect material that may contribute to disease (aka: moldy dressing, yogurt, red sauce, tartar, and various spreads; old eggs; sour milk) and now, well, there’s nothing left to eat. So I am going to the store, and with such a blank slate I am going to start eating healthier. Fresh fruits and vegetables, things with fewer preservatives. I’ll also be looking to some of you (my health nut, eco friendly, resourceful friends) for healthy recopies and ideas, since cooking and food strategy is not exactly my forte.  And since my fridge insists on either freezing or spoiling its contents, I will be buying less at a time, and making more bicycle trips to the store.

4. As I’m on the path back to personal health, I believe a part of holistic health has to do with ones profession. My position as an Americorps VISTA at Loyola University is almost up (on the last day of July). Michelle and I have been talking about starting our own business. This ties in to my life list, for those of you who read that previous post. We aren’t exactly sure what that business will look like yet, but whatever it is I feel it will be a better fit BECAUSE apparently Mollers (myself included) don’t like to have a boss, no matter how good the boss, we want to be our own boss, to establish our own goals, to create and control our own destiny – ask any Moller. How about it? We’ll work hard, but we work for ourselves. I feel like steps in this direction are just around the corner, and that will make a big difference in my career satisfaction.

5. I am continuing to work on my life list. I am now working on growing three seeds, of some unidentified tree species (I suspect Orchid) – two hanging on my window, one on top of the fridge. I found out from the bank the other day that I have fantastic credit for someone my age, which frees up a variety of opportunities for Erik and I. I called one of my dad’s coworkers to learn about her successful career in interior design (she’ll probably call me back…). Michelle and I are having our first “business” phone call tonight. Spring cleaning is going to hit my room full force in a matter of hours. I’m writing more. Erik and I are making good progress in wedding planning. And as I set out on this path of wellness, maybe soon I can help others with physical fitness and make money having fun as a physical trainer.

So I’m on a fresh path of embracing health and life, and these five things along with the many reasons I have to look forward to living life (including the man of my life, my loving and growing family, and a vast horizon of opportunity) make it so.

2 thoughts on “To health and life, make it so!

Leave a Reply

